Reviews

Reviews for Bridge House B&B

“Lovely, comfortable stay. Beautiful house and garden well located to explore the surrounding area. Excellent advice from the hosts and a good breakfast. Stayed mainly to visit Hadrian’s Wall and highly recommend the AD122 bus which allows visiting major sites and walking stretches of the wall without having to back-track. Restaurants:  Buongiorno was very good as was Little Mexico, tiny restaurant with a lovely owner which served great burritos.
Hexham Abbey should not be missed-a real gem.” (September 2019)

“Lovely place to stay. Great for exploring Hexham and very welcoming hosts” (August 2019)

“Wendy and Peter could not have been more hospitable! We felt we were really personal guests in their home. They have taken care of every detail in the facilities and in their interactions with us to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Peter and Wendy have gone to the trouble of putting together a list of various restaurants they can recommend, and they have displayed the list on a beautifully colour coded map of Hexham so it was really easy to find our way to two very delightful dinner venues.” (August 2019)

“From booking to leaving I had a very positive vibe from both hosts. I would stay again for sure. Thank you.” (August 2019)

“Very helpful and thoughtful when we arrived so wet.
Very good breakfast.+” (August 2019)

“This was a return visit as we enjoyed ourselves so much previously. Still the same high quality!” (August 2019)

“Very welcoming and an excellent breakfast before we left with some useful recommendations for a visit on our Onward journey.” (July 2019)

“We were walking Hadrian’s Wall when one of our party sustained an injury and we needed to change plans and find somewhere comfortable to stay for an evening. We couldn’t have found a more ideal place. A ten minute walk from where the AD122 bus drops off, Bridge House is an idyllic B&B with first rate facilities. The owners were simply fantastic and couldn’t have done more to accommodate us or to make us feel at home. You’ll be provided with a really lovely and comprehensive map of Hexham with restaurants and sights on it. Get the eggs” (July 2019)

“Very comfortable stay. The hosts are very welcoming. Great breakfast, and the attention to carbon footprint was good for us. Thanks also for letting us use your laundry room. Handy for the AD122 if you are walking the Hadrian’s Wall Path.” (June 2019)

“I was made very welcome by Wendy and Peter who were friendly and helpful.Although Bridge House is adjacent to a road it is quiet, is not far from the town centre and ideal for a stay in Hexham. Would definitely stay there again.” (May 2019)

“Quietly friendly and helpful hosts, and comfortable bedroom with very nice large bathroom next-door.  Appreciated the art around the house and the wooden furniture. Delicious breakfast. Loved the easy walk in to town, through the Park.” (May 2019)

“Thank you so much for a great stay and a lovely breakfast and for very kindly driving me to my conference venue when I couldn’t get a taxi!” (May 2019)

“Very homely, friendly and accommodating. Great breakfast. Highly recommended.” (April 2019)

“Comfortable and convenient stay. Friendly and efficient hosts. Very enjoyable. We ate at Bouchon, the Heart of Northumberland. The Rat at Anick. Also drinks at the Beaumont. All good. Hexham Abbey brilliant esp guide and crypt. Also lots of walks locally and good train service if you walk one way along the Tyne and come back by train. Good bookshop Cogito. Nice cinema. 
Lovely place to stay for a few days.” (April 2019)

“Our hosts at Bridge House Peter and Wendy were extremely pleasant and helpful in ensuring that we got the best from our stay in Hexham. The house was warm comfortable and the breakfast excellent and beautifully presented. There is so much to see in Hexham and the surrounding area for sightseers and walkers alike. The town is situated in a beautiful area and has a
friendly atmosphere.It has many independent shops, pubs and restaurants, we particularly liked the Heart of Northumberland for its food and ambience and had an excellent meal at Le Bouchon bistro in the town.” (April 2019)

“Wendy and Peter were fantastic hosts. Very hospitable and cooked a great breakfast too. Thanks for a great trip!” (March 2019)

“Bridge House is lovely and conveniently placed accommodation. Our hosts were extremely accommodating; ideas for walks, where to eat and the history of beautiful Hexham. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to other visitors. Thank you for a lovely overnight stay!” (February 2019)

“An ideal base for exploring the surrounding area. Excellent hosts.” (January 2019)

“Great walk into town (ten mins to the abbey, along park and walkways); only c. 20 mins from station. Breakfast: local sausages and bacon and freerange eggs, homemade bread, etc.  Plenty of books.  Welcoming room which manages to contain all that’s needed without shouting about it. Plenty of hot water (both rooms are good.) Hosts delightful” (October 2018)

“Great room, we stayed In the green room. Easy walking distance to the Town. Service and owners superb. Fabulous house! Breakfast was great too, would definitely stay again”  (October 2018)

“Very friendly and helpful with no fuss” (October 2018)

“A beautiful house with excellent hospitality and comfort. Hosts most welcoming and breakfast very good.”(September 2018)

“This was our second stay at Bridge House. Just like before we found the hosts very friendly and welcoming and we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was fantastic with Peter’s homemade bread! Hopefully we will be back next year” (September 2018)

“The house is situated at the top end of the town which makes for a nice walk through the park before dinner on your way into town. I had a really nice spacious room with a smallish en-suite. A full English breakfast was cooked to order.” (August 2018)

Thank you so much for your hospitality and for the yummy breakfast. We love staying at your place and we hope that it continues to support you and your home!” (August 2018)

Wendy and Peter were superb hosts, very hospitable and welcoming. Breakfast was tremendous with a lot of attention to detail, Wendy’s marmalade was delicious as was the artisan bread. Our room was lovely and bright with very tasteful furnishings, the house had a lot of 19th century character and in an excellent location for walking into town.” (July 2018)

Wendy’s B and B felt like a calm and thoughtfully decorated property. There were lots of mini toiletries in the bathroom and we slept very well each night. Breakfast was fantastic.” (June 2018)

Outstanding host, beautiful and convenient location near the center of Hexham. Wendy was also very helpful in guiding me towards local sights and Hadrian’s Wall. An amazing breakfast as well!” (May 2018)

Fantastic property would thoroughly recommend. In the perfect location, walkable to all that Hexham has to offer. The room was full of character and very well presented and clean. The breakfast was lovely and Wendy was a great host. Would definitely stay again!” (October 2017)

We would give Wendy 6 stars if we could! A wonderful host, a lovely house, a great location and the pancakes are fantastic… stay here!” (August 2017)

Wendy and Peter were excellent hosts and we would definitely recommend them to other travellers. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival. The bedroom was spacious, modern, clean and well-presented. We had our own private bathroom. We had plenty of storage space for our luggage and the room was nicely warmed. Wendy and Peter put on a fantastic breakfast for us each morning, including some fresh raspberries from their own garden. Wendy kindly arranged to dry my shoes one night after they had been drenched in rain.” (June 2017)

“We love Peter and Wendy! They provided such a great breakfast, and they were very friendly, answering many questions we had about the area and England in general. They also were understanding with our uncertain arrival time, and made sure we felt welcomed, even helping to carry our luggage in. We would definitely stay there again!
Tips for other travellers: If you have time, make sure to use Peter’s map of the area to do a walking tour around Hexham, a lovely town. If you have other questions about England in general, don’t hesitate to ask them! Make sure to ask for Peter’s porridge–it was delicious!”
(June 2017)

“Everything was simply lovely and we would have liked to stay longer. If we are fortunate to return to Hexham in the future we know where we will be staying. Thank you so much for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.” (March 2017)

“Excellent comfort, lovely breakfasts and great hospitality. A really nice lounge to relax in.” (April 2016)

“Though there is no TV in the room the stay was fantastic. The owner was lovely and extremely friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the whole weekend was wonderful.” (May 2016)

“This was such a lovely place to stay for three nights as a base of exploration for the region.” (June 2016)

“Lovely to have feather pillows etc ,a very enjoyable visit.” (August 2016)

“Breakfast to die for.” (Sept 2016)